Day 1,147

And so I’ve now finished 30 years of life. This past one probably won’t go down as my favorite year ever, but it was the year in which I learned conclusively that I have the best friends and family anyone could ever ask for. That doesn’t even begin to tell the story, actually. Ephesians 3:20 probably sums it up the best:

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

More than we can ask or imagine. If I had to describe the last year of my life, I don’t think I could pick a more appropriate phrase. Getting cancer at age 30 isn’t something I ever imagined (and certainly didn’t ask for), but that’s not the thing that stands out as exceptionally above and beyond what was reasonable to expect – the remarkable outpouring of love from all of you, that’s what is more than what I could have asked for or imagined.

I’ve jokingly referred to myself as the world’s luckiest cancer patient, but I could say it with a straight face too. I look around at the people in my life and am amazed at the quality of individuals with which I’ve been lucky enough to associate. I have truly amazing friends, and have learned this year just how deep their friendship actually is. I have a family that can only be described as eclectic but is also fantastic and have brightened many days with their kind words. I have a job that lets me wander downstairs in a pair of shorts and write about something I’m passionate about, and a boss whose generosity apparently knows no bounds. I have a wife who is so amazing that attempting to write about how great she is would require the innovation of new words, because the current ones simply aren’t adequate for the job.

I’m typing this on a beautiful new couch that we were able to find at a massive discount (to the surprise of absolutely no one, I’m sure), staring at this ridiculous house we stumbled into, and knowing that when I wake up in the morning, I have a day of celebration to look forward to. But, really, every day is now a celebration, because I’ve come to realize that even getting cancer has only served to make my life better. Everything really does work together for our good, even annoying things like leukemia.

My official stance on my 31st birthday is that it’s not a big deal, because I’m planning on having a bunch more of these. But, I’d be lying if I said this one won’t be special, because this is the one where I get to say thanks to everyone who has made me realize just how lucky I am. To all of you, my deepest thanks. You are all the gift that I received this year, and I couldn’t have asked for a better present.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1,147

  1. Happy Birthday! Hope you keep writing here because I love your writing.

Leave a Reply

